Whip It Real Good

Willow Smith, Will Smith’s 9-year-old daughter, recently released her first single, “Whip My Hair“. Earlier this week, she released the video for said song.

I have such conflicting feelings about this. Here they are, in chronological order.

“WHAT, Will Smith’s 9-year-old has a song out?”
“Well this is kind of catchy. Who am I to hate a well-crafted pop song?”
“But she’s 9! Have a childhood!”
“Maybe this is really what she wants to do.”
“Yeah, but SHE’S NINE!”
“Well, it’s never too early to start living your dream.”
“Yeah, and that’s much easier when you’re Will Smith’s daughter. I whip my nepotism back & forth.”
“Wow, are you really hating on an innocent 9-year-old? At least her video is cute, precocious, and age-appropriate.”
“Well, this song is kind of irritatingly catchy. And it would be a lot of fun to dip my hair in paint and then whip it back & forth….”
“BUT SHE’S NINE! LOOK AT LINDSAY LOHAN!”
“Yeah, but Lindsay’s parents are crazy!”
“Well that’s true. And aww, look how cute Willow’s outfits are. And she’s even relatively makeup free, relying on glued-on body jewelry and such.”
“I know. but she’s 9! It is just so hard for me to get over this! What ever happened to just hanging out on the playground? I’d hate for my [4-year-old] niece to have to deal with the media and press when she’s 9.”
“But if she wants it, she wants it. Plus: Famous for Bad Reasons?”
“I whip my hair back & forth, I whip my hair back & forth…..”

Haters stay pressed.

–The Gemini

About Famous For Bad Reasons

Pop Culture and Feelings, brought to you by two people with too much regard for the former and no regard for the latter.
This entry was posted in FFBR and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Whip It Real Good

  1. Stephen says:

    I’m so over her. I was a big fan. Then I saw this music video. Talk about underwhelming. The song is amazing because she’s 9 but it sounds like such a fierce, grown-up song. And then the music video is a Nickelodeon conglomerate. Fucking disappointing mess. UGH.

  2. Aww, I thought the video was cute. It’s what made me actually like it.

  3. Stephen says:

    I was really expecting her to bring the fierce with the video, not act her age.

  4. Pingback: The Gemini on Child Stars and Disney Queens |

  5. Pingback: Whip it Real Good: the White America Version |

Leave a Reply

