God, gold, and glorious beards.

Happy Diwali, friends! If you don’t know what that is, please consult google, wikipedia, or your token Indian friend. Get yourself to a party if you’re lucky like me, or do what most white people would do in this situation– pop in The Darjeeling Limited and keep your eye trained on Waris Ahluwalia, wondering possibly about the tenderness of his beard, wondering if his voice ever soothes beyond that deadpan delivery.

Because most white people have a raging crush on Waris Ahluwalia. Or if they don’t, I can’t imagine what they find attractive.

For me, handsome bearded men tend to be in bands where they write meaningful lyrics about moons, lovers, and metaphysical concerns. They play various instruments, wear lots of flannel (or peasant shirts open to the navel, sexy chest hair making a cameo appearance). But every once in a while, a Sikh man walks into a room, and I’m floored. I’m sure this is probably deeply problematic, as my friend RMJ might say. Still, I can’t help it. People tend to do this– for anime fanatics, they may exoticize Japanese girls. I guess for overly-educated girls who have explored different religions and watched a lot of sad films, southeast Asia seems appealing. I’ll let the academics, feminist anthropologists, and psychologists deconstruct that.

But get this, guys. This man isn’t just an actor; he designs jewelry, and he’s amazing. Right now I’m covered in real gold, gold-plate, and colorful jewelry, as I tend to be when I even contemplate leaving my apartment. I used to hate gold, but something happened in which I realized it was the best costuming for a princess like myself. And this man, he gets it. He does. Maybe even more than Nicky Hilton (whose new line of jewelry I really approve of, truly).

In a brief interview nearly four years ago with NY Mag (where the above picture was featured), he said, “We’ve been lusting after gold since the beginning of time. God, glory, and gold.”

Lusting, indeed.

And maybe that’s the heart of what makes people Famous For Bad Reasons– god, glory, and gold are hardly the same as shouting out “freedom, peace, hemp!” But violence, war, all those things which aren’t glamorous but are made so by the erasure of public memory– all those things look pretty when symbolized in the twisted pairing of gold with diamonds, all designed by someone who practices Sikhism, a peaceful and egalitarian religion.

Nothing sexier than complexity.

And beards.

–The Libra

About Famous For Bad Reasons

Pop Culture and Feelings, brought to you by two people with too much regard for the former and no regard for the latter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

