Friends of FFBR: BFF Productions

I started following BFF Productions because this is one of Nicole Richie’s friends. And Nicole Richie has good taste in friends (duh).

But this entry here warmed my heart during a week when not even the most cheerful Christmas lights or Kanye songs could bring me to a place of deeper spirituality that I so needed: National BFF Day.

We live in a culture that says, “Fall in love, get married, have children, and have a set number of friends who come to your bourgeois dinner parties where you try out recipes you saw on Food Network. If you have enough money– and you should– get a second home, possibly somewhere to give you real credibility: Cape Cod, the Hamptons, or some place in the mountains where you can go skiing. Wear a lot of nice clothes, and drink nice wine, but don’t drink too much wine, and don’t let anyone think you’re shallow about how much you spend on clothes. AND ABOVE ALL: DO NOT FORGET WE VALUE YOU MORE IF YOU ARE IN A FUNCTIONAL RELATIONSHIP WITH A FUNCTIONAL FAMILY!”

This is the new American dream, and nowhere in the scheme does it give enough credit for the role of BFFs. I don’t know about you guys, but when I hear of fresh gossip, I don’t go running to some man I love to tell him about it. The people I plot diabolical schemes and plan parties with are my BFFs. The ones I break into houses with (The Gemini and I were locked at out of a friend’s house on accident one night; there was no other option), the ones I learn the art of Fresca drinking with, the ones I build blogs with, and the ones I hate on pretentious hipsters with– these are BFFs.


(This is the window that was broken so that The Gemini and I could get into a friend’s basement. You can see by the green of the tomatoes that it is early summer. Copyright The Libra, 2006).

Here is a rule of thumb: when you become Famous For Bad Reasons, take your BFF with you. Whether it’s telling everyone to read your BFF’s twitter (as Nicole Richie did for Sophia Rossi of BFF Productions), or dragging your friend to dark and seedy places that make for good publicity– all these things are acceptable, and you’re spreading the warmth, love, and security that comes from having had the support to be what you are– Famous, and for very Bad Reasons.

–The Libra

About Famous For Bad Reasons

Pop Culture and Feelings, brought to you by two people with too much regard for the former and no regard for the latter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Friends of FFBR: BFF Productions

  1. Tiffany says:

    Such a fan of y’alls blog šŸ™‚ also, after reading the part about hipster dinner parties, expensive wine and bourgeoisie hipsters, I hope you’ve read “Bobos in Paradise” by David Brooks. If not, you should: it’s hysterical and fan-fucking-tastic.

Leave a Reply

