The Gemini on Life Without Cable

Something truly tragic happened to me this week. Something so awful that it’s taken me almost 48 hours to write about.

I went to happy hour Thursday, ready to engage in wine and conversation prior to Jersey Shore and the Real Housewives of Beverly Hills finale. Given my previously mentioned love for both of these series, you can imagine how excited I was to get home and watch. Until I got home at 8:45 and saw that the clock on my DVR had been reset. Suspicious, I turned on my TV and saw, horror of horrors, not only was my DVR broken but my cable was out.

Terrible. A true tragedy. These guys know what I’m talking about.


The Libra
and I often engage in a “should I cancel my cable?” debate. Honestly, these days you can watch almost anything from a major network online pretty easily, and you can find something from a lesser-network with a little searching. Plus, I have a Roku box that lets me watch anything from Netflix on my TV, and I can always hook up my computer to TV with an HDMI cord. Still, I email the Libra at least two times a month saying I’ve decided to cancel my cable, until she reminds me that Kourtney and Kim Take New York is about to premiere and I come to my senses.

This morning I e-mailed her to whine about how my cable still had not been fixed. She responded accordingly, reminding me that I could never really cancel my cable and be satisfied. “But no, I totally could!” I replied. “I didn’t die waiting for the Real Housewives of Beverly Hills finale! I could definitely do this long-term.” But then my cable guy came and fixed everything and I ended up spending the last two hours on my couch watching MTV’s I Used To Be Fat (a terrible horrible show deserving of an entirely separate blog) and the Travel Channel’s Top Ten Florida Beaches.

Could I live without cable? Yes, definitely. The same way many people in legitimately tragic situations around the world live without cable, running water, and a roof over their heads. But do I want to? No. I love MVP too much to have to wait until Friday morning to watch their shenanigans.

–The Gemini

About Famous For Bad Reasons

Pop Culture and Feelings, brought to you by two people with too much regard for the former and no regard for the latter.
This entry was posted in FFBR and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

