The Libra’s Love/Hate Relationship with Hollywood, Part 2

When I was in Los Angeles last year with my friend the Leo, I was sick, miserable, and dealing with a family that didn’t want me there. It was totally like a plot pulled from “Friday Night Lights,” except replace “football obsession” with “movie obsession.”

While sick, the Leo and I watched 500 Days of Summer which just depressed me. I’d been wanting to watch it since it had come out, but something held me back. Good thing, too, because I’m glad I watched it for free.

“Oh my god, I have such a crush on Matthew Gray Gubler,” the Leo said, pointing out the supporting actor in the film.

“Gubler? What kind of name is that?”

“He’s on ‘Criminal Minds.” I’ve been following his twitter lately. He’s kind of indie and nerdy.”

Some days later we met up with my friend Cat, who is pretty much awesome, and she showed us around Los Feliz. We ate and were generally the happiest we’d been during this awful spring break. When we were in Pinkberry I saw Matthew Gray Gubler walk by, and I didn’t say anything. I wasn’t sure it was him, and I have this policy about not letting it seem like a big deal when I spot a celebrity. This was probably his ‘hood, after all. Given the number of indie nerds wandering around walking their dogs, this seems to make sense.

Later, my Leo friend saw him on another street corner, thus confirming my suspicions.

“Yeah,” I said, acting cool, “I totally saw him when we were in Pinkberry. I didn’t say anything ‘cause, well–”

I didn’t say anything because I didn’t want anyone to make a fuss. ‘Cause I’m tired of anyone making a fuss. I only like ridiculously famous people, not the normally famous. I like them to be so outlandish, so over the top, that they walk on air and wear diamonds for teeth. I like things to be so unreal that they’re campy– because when something is campy, at least it’s unsettling, and not so ordinary.

If Charlie Sheen has taught us anything, it’s just this: “I don’t understand what I did wrong except live a life that everyone is jealous of.”

–The Libra

About Famous For Bad Reasons

Pop Culture and Feelings, brought to you by two people with too much regard for the former and no regard for the latter.
This entry was posted in FFBR and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Libra’s Love/Hate Relationship with Hollywood, Part 2

  1. The Leo says:

    Oh my god. I do suck, don’t I. I’m like one of the multiple girls for whom Belle and Sebastian frontman Stuart Murdoch bought the New York Herald Tribune t-shirt Jean Seberg was wearing in “Breathless.”

    I’ve changed in the past year, though. I no longer give a fuck about anyone except Beyonce.

  2. Samantha says:

    I figured but didn’t want to assume.

  3. Chia says:

    I’m the same way! I see celebs all the time in LA, but never say anything. Actually, the only celeb I went up to was James St. James, and I really regret not getting a picture with him, lol.

Leave a Reply

