The Gemini Keeps Dancing Til The World Ends

Breaking news: The world is a pretty fucked up place.

But Britney (singer) and Ke$ha (writer), have given us some sage advice:

Seriously, the news sucks. Life can suck. My uncle likes to make fun of me for watching shows like Jersey Shore (though he recently informed me that he thinks Two and a Half Men is funny, so….). But can you blame me? For one, I live in DC. I can’t escape douchebaggery, no matter how hard I try. I also work for lawyers and have the distinct pleasure of reading horrifying stories every day, like the 911 transcript of a family stuck in an accelerating Toyota. It’s not pleasant.

So yes, when I come home Monday nights I like to pretend like the previous 12 hours didn’t happen and instead watch Pretty Little Liars and Gossip Girl. I know these are not good shows. Gossip Girl hasn’t been good since 2008 and I send multiple tweets a week asking the PLL creators to just tell us who A is so I can stop watching. But the point is: I know real life, I know legitimately good TV, and I know mindless entertainment. And of these, I prefer to spend my free time with the latter (with a little bit of option B) precisely because it is that–a mindless escape mechanism from the realities of every day life. I still know what’s happening on CNN. But I don’t need to spend every hour thinking about it.

As Britney/Ke$ha have so eloquently pointed out, there’s a certain beauty in this method. The world’s going to end eventually. We might as well dance our way out.

–The Gemini

About Famous For Bad Reasons

Pop Culture and Feelings, brought to you by two people with too much regard for the former and no regard for the latter.
This entry was posted in FFBR and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Gemini Keeps Dancing Til The World Ends

  1. Stephen says:

    That is precisely why I love artists like Ke$ha and Britney much more than Lady GaGa. I know about the injustices and political wrongdoings in the world. I don’t want to be bombarded with either all the damn time, least of all when I’m trying to have a good time. Sure songs about empowerment are great and all, but I’d much rather feel empowered by a song that tells me to have fun than one that instructs me to love myself; the former doesn’t remind me of the fact that there’s a need to love myself because there a shitload of people who won’t.

  2. Pingback: The Gemini Watched the Royal Wedding |

  3. Pingback: FFBR HQ: Now With Cable! |

Leave a Reply

