The Pro-Gay, Pro-Muslim Libra on Victoria Jackson

I recently got addicted to “Glee.” Unlike the Gemini, I’ve only seen about five episodes. I feel thrilled and overwhelmed by the fact that even last Tuesday’s rerun was brand new and shiny to me. While the rest of you were trying to fill your time, I was learning brand new facts about Gwyneth Paltrow’s otherwise lackluster acting career.

And then I learned that Victoria Jackson, noted Christian extremist and possible terrorist (don’t white Christians fit that stereotype?), freaked out over Kurt and Blaine’s kiss. This same woman was allowed on “Saturday Night Live” for like six seasons hates a funny show where adorable singing boys kiss each other? I bet she hates kittens, too.

“I just want to know why the liberals are pro-muslim and pro-gays. Muslims kill gays. That’s what’s confusing to me. And the only thing I can come up with is the Mulims hate God and the gays hate his word.”

What.

Look, I know not every comedian has to be liberal. Even the liberal ones take cheap shots at gay people and Muslims (though I’m not sure how Jackson is connecting them). Being liberal isn’t a bunker against having personal prejudices. And being Republican isn’t something that keeps people from being funny, just maybe something that keeps funny people from paying taxes they deem exorbitant in their latent fame. But a bigoted Tea Partier who hasn’t done anything of note since leaving “Saturday Night Live”? Who voted her spokesperson of anything?

I know what you’re thinking. You’re thinking, silly Libra, why bother when a Tea Party fanatic says something hateful about gay people or Muslims? This is just some jerk with a big bow on the top of her head.

But it’s more than that. Critique what you will about “Glee,” but television shouldn’t give anyone who was ever famous a platform for hate. As the Gemini pointed out, there are terrible reasons to be famous that we don’t endorse.

And now for something to make Victoria Jackson sick– a documentary on gay Muslims:

For better female comedians, Gilda Radner, one of my heroes, can be watched on Instant Watch on Netflix.

–The Libra

About Famous For Bad Reasons

Pop Culture and Feelings, brought to you by two people with too much regard for the former and no regard for the latter.
This entry was posted in FFBR and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Pro-Gay, Pro-Muslim Libra on Victoria Jackson

  1. Gwen says:

    She is a crazy woman. I don’t think I like her very much. I love watching Glee. I watch with my entire family.

  2. Emily says:

    Love the bow pic

Leave a Reply

