The Libra’s Pop Art Moment in the Liquor Store

Last night I went into a liquor store with my friends. They were going to get beer before dropping me off at my apartment because I am roughly 100 years old and am fighting a cold.

Now, obviously, living in a college town as I do, I have learned the names of all kinds of terrible alcohol. One of my students explained what Rubinoff was to me, and now not a class goes by where the topic of Rubinoff doesn’t come up. In fact, another student said, quite seriously, “I do not want to hear that name again.” “What? Rubinoff?” (Hee!)

Anyway, back to the liquor store. What– what is going on in this picture?

Not only is this very cheap wine, it’s cheap wine marked down to $4.99.

What I don’t understand is why it’s not selling! Aren’t there plenty of young women who like the color pink, who might drunkenly mistake it for a Susan G. Komen cure? Aren’t there plenty of young men who, in college towns, like to test each other’s masculinity and offer gifts of pink things, saying, “Dude, drink this, since you have a vagina”?

I don’t even know what a pink merlot is, but for $4.99 I’m tempted to find out. Except I’m not in college anymore, where my friends routinely opened boxed wines like Franzia and passed the bag around as if it were an IV bag.

But isn’t it beautiful?

This moment of pop art was brought to you by someone who sees beauty in everything except maybe art.

–The Libra

About Famous For Bad Reasons

Pop Culture and Feelings, brought to you by two people with too much regard for the former and no regard for the latter.
This entry was posted in FFBR. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Libra’s Pop Art Moment in the Liquor Store

  1. RMJ says:

    15.99 is actually pretty expensive for wine – more than I’ve ever spent! 4.99 is usually more than I pay ($3/bottle, or $12/box).

Leave a Reply

