The Gemini Plays Paparazzi

Every few months or so, I get invited to volunteer at a White House event. I’m not sure why, but I’m assuming they saw the CNN clip of me launching myself into Barack’s arms after he won the South Carolina primary and thought “My, what a dedicated volunteer! She should definitely make it past the Secret Service background check and come hang out at the White House!”

Anyway, so yesterday I spent the morning at the White House Easter Egg Roll, where my job was basically to walk around and answer questions from attendees. This was fun because 1) it sucks to be stuck in one place the whole time and 2) my Spidey sense kept making me run into celebrities (sometimes literally).

We’re not supposed to take pictures but, well, if the Libra and I were rule-followers, this blog would probably be called something else. So here you go.

First up: Al Roker

Then I wandered over to the Storytelling area where I saw Kelly Ripa, who is both very nice and also the skinniest person I’ve ever seen in my life.

Later, as everyone was crowding around the basketball court trying to get a glimpse of Obama, I went in the other direction and almost ran into a stroller being pushed down the hill. First I wondered why the woman pushing said stroller was wearing 4-inch stilletos in the muddy grass, and then I realized it was Kimora Lee Simmons. SHe was there with her new husband, Djimon Hounsou, and ex-husband, Russell Simmons, which I discovered after discreetly following them. She was also very nice, and stopped to take pictures with anyone who asked (I did not ask, as I’d been up since 4:30 and had a sunburn and generally looked a hot mess).

Then I decided to take a break from the craziness of the upper South Lawn and check out the arts & crafts stations. Part of the area was blocked off because Michelle was in the kitchen garden, so I turned around and came face to face with my Queen:


CARLA! Only the greatest Top Chef contestant of all time. Hootie Hoo!!

These randoms were also there:


So, paparazzi agencies, who wants to hire me when I move to NYC this summer? I have a camera phone of questionable quality and limited amounts of shame. Let me know!

–The Gemini

About Famous For Bad Reasons

Pop Culture and Feelings, brought to you by two people with too much regard for the former and no regard for the latter.
This entry was posted in FFBR. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Gemini Plays Paparazzi

  1. ATK says:

    The saddest day of my life was when the DVR died that held the video of the secret service prying the Gemini’s arms from around Obama’s neck at the South Carolina primary and mouthing ‘you’re fierce’ to Michelle. It was a moment for the ages and should have been preserved. The limited amount of shame was evident many years before FFBR began.

  2. austine says:

    um, please do! how have i not seen this?

  3. Alejandra says:

    Send it to me too! I’ve never heard about this. Also, I was Carla’s waitress once and she was super nice…especially considering the quality of our food!

Leave a Reply

