The Gemini Channels Her Inner Teenager

This probably will not come as any sort of shock, but when I was a young Gemini I loved the Backstreet Boys. LOVED. Like, this was my first contribution to the Internet: Julia’s Backstreet World (Please view and sign the guestbook!!)

And this was my room in 1999:

Yes, that is an entire wall dedicated to Brian ~B-Rok~ Littrell. I also had a separate wall for AJ McLean, because of course I would like the crazy one that eventually went to rehab.

Anyway, when I saw they were joining forces with New Kids on the Block, I didn’t really care too much. I was never into NKOTB and I didn’t want to shell out $100 for a ticket. Luckily, I had friend of FFBR Charlsie to knock some sense into me:

Long story short, I did not end up paying $100 but did buy amazing seats for $60 on Craigslist, so I grabbed my friend we’ll call the Libra #2 & we went on a journey to becoming 13 again.

AND IT WAS AMAZING. I lost my voice from screaming. I even loved the New Kids stuff because 1) who doesn’t always love hearing The Right Stuff and 2) the way they alternated songs with BSB provided ample opportunities for bathroom/refreshment breaks without having to risk missing I Want it That Way (which is obviously one of my top 5 favorite songs of all time).

Seriously though, it was a lot of fun. Was it kind of cheesy? Yes, but boy bands are inherently cheesy. Was a lot of the entertainment due to nostalgia? Probably, but we already knew I’m a big fan of nostalgia.

So yes, it was worth the $60 & I thoroughly enjoyed the chance to act like a teenage girl again. Now I just need Justin Timberlake to get over his ego & do an NSync reunion tour so I can really fangirl out, and also demonstrate that I still know all the dance moves from Bye Bye Bye.

As long as you love me,
–The Gemini

About Famous For Bad Reasons

Pop Culture and Feelings, brought to you by two people with too much regard for the former and no regard for the latter.
This entry was posted in FFBR. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Gemini Channels Her Inner Teenager

  1. Charlsie N. says:

    This post is truly larger than life. You have me all the more pumped for my show in a few weeks. KTBPA Julia, keep it alive!

  2. S.B.N. says:

    I don’t know if it’s from Bye Bye Bye, but you know the NSync dance move where you kind of put your arms out in front of you zombie-style and sort of, like…scootjump backwards leading with your ass? I do that one all the time. Also I think I like NSync better now than I did when they were out, and I’d so totally see them live.

  3. Pingback: A FFBR Mascot Update |

  4. Pingback: The Gemini Relives Her Early Teenage Years |

  5. Pingback: The Gemini on Justin Timberlake |

Leave a Reply

